Everyday Makeup Essentials

Hello everyone! I have been wanting to make a post about my everyday, must have makeup products since I started thinking about making a blog!

** This will be a long one! Grab a snack, some water, some wine, and enjoy! **

Whenever I do my makeup, for work, school, or dress up (we all do it!) I find myself reaching for these products this past year. Of course with the seasons some of the products DO change, depending on how dry or oily my skin gets. Regardless, most of these products are still in the routine!

Enough rambling, lets get to the good stuff! (I tried to get a product for each category!)

Alrighty! So face first. Always.

dscn1010

The primer I use during every season besides winter, only because my skin is crazy dry – for once! – is the Smashbox Photo Finish primer. Pictured is a sample size, I looooove sample sizes! If you are lucky, you can grab some freebies from Shoppers Drug Mart (my favourite spot as you will eventually see) as well as Sephora. (Of course!) I love the feeling of this primer, I can feel it on my face, which sounds weird, BUT I swear I wouldn’t lie, it’s amazing! It keeps my makeup on and it doesn’t move around which is a plus when you have combination skin!

Now, back when I took these photos in preparation for the blog, this foundation was still available at Shoppers Drug Mart. NOW, they have switched out the brand Vichy for Dermablend (correct me if I’m wrong). I have heard from friends who work there that Dermablend is the same if not better than Vichy so I am waiting to finish my current tube of foundation and try the next brand! Anywho, Vichy liquid foundation, which I just realized says Dermablend anyway… is amazing. I have had lots of compliments on how well the foundation matches my skin which is amazing considering they had like 3 shades, fair, medium and dark. I went with fair, because I am pale as pale can be, which runs in the family… thank you mum and dad! It blends seamlessly, it does not change colour in the oxygen which some foundations and concealers tend to do. I love it!

Concealer! Honestly. I only snagged this because of Jaclyn Hill, who is someone I look up to in the beauty world. I am glad I did! It is a cult favourite for a reason. I have the shade light warm and it matches my skin wonderfully. I have a little bit of a yellow undertone and I blend it in with a damp beauty blender. I don’t use this under my eyes, just on red patches and blemishes. Under my eyes I have been using NYX liquid concealer in fair and I love it! It doesn’t change the tone of skin lots but it does brighten it just a bit!

Ok! Sticking with the next steps in the face, I gravitate towards these fine products!

I just picked this bronzer up this summer and I was in love right away. Now I don’t love the smell of coconut but I love the scent of this, it’s a mild coconuty smell that if I ever were to go on a hot vacation, this bronzer would remind me of that vacation. Not only does it smell amazing but it’s called Butter Bronzer for a reason. It’s buttery! It blends nicely and looks great on my skin tone! I can also layer it on if I feel I’m not bronzed enough, which is everyday because Brianne is pale!

This Clinique Flower Blush is in coral and it is old! BUT it’s a good blush! Blends nice and it is a great colour. I would love to try other colours from the brand!

dscn1009

You really didn’t think you could get through this post without a Jaclyn Hill product? You’re wrong! Champagne Pop is my favourite, and only highlight, besides Prosecco Pop, of course! Credit goes to a beautiful friend in Winnipeg who picked this up and dropped if off for me, thank you again! I douse myself in this highlighter in the summer, spring, fall and winter. No shame. Cheekbones, tip of the nose, shoulders, collar bones, sometimes to highlight my brows and of course to highlight the lips! I love it, enough said.

Ok, finishing up this marathon of a post. Have you grabbed a snack or glass of wine yet??

Lashes. I love the look of long, full, black lashes, but I don’t have the patience to put falsies on everyday, plus I don’t want to possibly ruin my real lashes. When I do put falsies on however, I can’t stop staring, completely mesmerized. Tarte’s Lights Camera Lashes mascara was my favourite for a long time. Used two full size tubes before switching to a drugstore mascara (I’ll post it later!). It separated my lashes nicely and gave them a nice oomph.

dscn1002

I only really recently started using brow pencils. Before I purchased the Colourpop Brow Pencil, I used eyeshadow to fill in my brows a bit! I still don’t go overboard on my brows, I feel I don’t need to draw in a different shape or add in a lot of hairs. I use the colour Bangin’ Brunette and it works great!

dscn1003dscn0999

Lastly, set all your hard work! Urban Decay All Nighter setting spray is the best! I haven’t tried another setting spray but I feel that I don’t have too. I have found the one.

dscn1012

Ok, I know I said I was done, but one more! It fits the beauty category and I love finishing my makeup with a nice spritz of perfume. (Not on my face directly!) Chanel Eau Vive is my favourite perfume ever! I think last Valentines Day, Cole and I bought each other perfumes! It’s my favourite and I wear it almost every day.

Ok! That’s it! We’re done. I hope you enjoyed it 🙂

If you would like me to add in links to each product I can! Let me know in the comments if you would benefit from that! 🙂

XO

 

Leave a Reply

